maggie

As usual, I’m way behind! Hope you enjoy these photos from our mid-March shoot. Sorry for the delay!

More of Maggie on (NSFW) Page 2!

About Maggie’s Tattoos
I don’t think that anyone that gets tattooed has a tattoo that doesn’t have some form of meaning, story, or memory behind it. Even my most spontaneous of tattoos have entertaining stories behind them. I couldn’t imagine any tattoo not having some form of significance.

From head to toe:

Clover on Shoulder: Credit: Lady of the Lake Tattoo, Loveland, CO. This is a matching tattoo that I have with a friend. I am a great lover of Celtic artwork, and tend to have a remarkable stroke of luck when it comes to life.

Right Arm: Carp Fish: Van at Rocky Mountain Tattoo, Denver, CO. This tattoo represents my astrological sign, Pisces. I am not one who puts a lot of stock into Astrology, but as I’ve gotten older, can’t help but notice that I am extremely drawn to water, and meet many of the traits of this water sign. This tattoo also has a bit of a Yin-Yang element to it, as I believe in a lot of balance in life. An additional significance to this tattoo is that it represents one of my grandfathers and his love of fishing and outdoors.

Nautical Star: I got this tattoo during a turning point in my life. I was a bit of a shit show and the star represents a compass, as the stars used to be for sailors. It was meant to guide me through this time. Inside is a negative space that is the astrological symbol for Pisces, and the star is surrounded by water.

Right wrist: Black Cat: Moeh at Crimson Hilt Tattoo, Denver, CO (@moehskee on insta). This was the first Friday the 13 th tattoo I received. I didn’t care much for the flash the other shops were posting, but wanted to get tattooed. I wanted to get a black cat, but I had him change the word on the banner from “unlucky” to “lucky,” given my ridiculous luck.

Left wrist: Rose: Moeh at Crimson Hilt Tattoo, Denver, CO (@moehskee on insta). My second Friday the 13th Tattoo…I really liked this flash and wanted something pretty and feminine.

Left Hip: Magenta Star: Lady of the Lake Tattoo, Loveland, CO. This is another matching tattoo I have with a friend. The idea was that everyone in our friend group would get this simple tattoo in their favorite color – – of course the day we decided to go, everyone bailed except the two of us, so we went ahead and still got them.

Lower back: Mermaid: Moeh at Crimson Hilt Tattoo, Denver, CO (@moehskee on insta). This tattoo probably has the most meaning of any of them to me. It is a cover up (if you look closely you can sort of see the old tattoo underneath, which was designed by my high school boyfriend and I got after I graduated high school). It represented a huge life change for me…I’d wanted to get my old tattoo covered up for a long time, not because I didn’t like it, but just because I’d outgrown it. I decided to divorce my husband of 9 years several months earlier and was getting ready to make a big move for the first time in my life. It represents a new life.

Right Thigh: Horseshoe: Moeh at Crimson Hilt Tattoo, Denver, CO (@moehskee on insta). This was my first tattoo after I’d decided to divorce my husband – kind of represented my new-found freedom. You know how I kept referring to my luck? Yeah. I’m lucky. Really freaking lucky…but oddly enough, that luck seemed to be non-existent while I was with my husband. I noticed this pretty early on in our relationship…things that typically worked out in my favor no longer happened, and it seemed like when there was the slightest chance for something to go wrong, it would. I once heard his mom refer to something she called the “Pitchford curse.” The minute I ditched him, things started working out in my favor once again.

Right Inner Ankle: The Last Unicorn: (Honestly can’t remember the artist or shop name) Fort Collins, CO. This was my second tattoo — The Last Unicorn was a fairly obscure movie from my childhood and was my absolute favorite. This tattoo marked my first time living away from home and starting college.

Right Outer Calf: Deer: Little Alex at Crimsom Hilt Tattoo, Denver, CO. This was my first Friday the 13 th tattoo out with deby girls. I chose the deer because my family is really big into outdoors and wildlife. We almost always had deer in my yard growing up. This design is done in Tibetan style, so since this photo shoot, I’ve added some clouds to even it out with the tattoo on my other calf.

Left Outer Calf: Bird: Moeh at Crimson Hilt Tattoo, Denver, CO (@moehskee on insta). This tattoo represents my other grandfather, who was a pilot and passed away the night before I got this tattoo.

Left Foot: Pawprint: Rockstar Tattoo, Boulder, CO. So, there’s a bit of a funny story behind this one….a friend of mine had talked me into going on a blind double-date with her. She’d been out with her dude a few times before and he had a friend. They were 21 and we were 20….but the guys really wanted to take us to play pool. We finally found a place that would let us in being under 21, but by that time I detested both guys so much, I just ghosted and went across the street to the tattoo parlor. I chose a pawprint because I’d just earned my certificate of completion from dog grooming school and decided it would be fun to mark the occasion.

Since the shoot, I’ve added one tattoo that’s not pictured: Left Ribs: Colfax street sign: Moeh at Crimson Hilt Tattoo, Denver, CO (@moehskee on insta). This tattoo marked my leaving Colorado…I’ve lived in Colorado pretty much my whole life so moving to California was a HUGE deal for me.

One thought on “maggie

  1. Pingback: maggie (page 2) | dave wood photography

Leave a Reply

